Free Shipping on orders over € 500

Complimentary Blessing

Your purchase

Your cart is empty

Who are the Four Evangelists

Who are the four Evangelists?

The four Evangelists are the four authors of the four Gospels contained in the Holy Bible, at the beginning of the New Testament. They are Matthew, Mark, Luke and John and they are usually represented with their attributes, that are the Angel, the Lion, the Ox and the Eagle. They all were Apostles of Jesus when He was in life and completely embraced their destiny to spread the Word of God through their manuscripts. 

Let’s get a closer look at them!

Saint Matthew the Evangelist

Born in Galilee, originally Matthew (or possibly Levi) was a former tax collector in Capernaum (Israel) who was called by Jesus to be one of the Twelve Apostles. He is the author of the first Gospel account, the first book of the New Testament, which starts with Joseph’s genealogy from Abraham, the famous patriarch of the Abrahamic religions including Judaism, Christianity and Islam. The attribute of St. Matthew the Evangelist is the Angel (or a winged man), to symbolize Jesus’ incarnation and Christ’s human nature. This to remind us that Christians should always use their reason for salvation. Due to his job, he would have probably been literate and could write highly educated Greek, the original language used to write the Gospels. He was one of the witnesses of the Ascension of Jesus and proclaimed to his Jews followers that Jesus was the promised Messiah.
He is celebrated every year on 21 September and he is considered the Patron Saint of Accountants, Bankers, Tax Collectors, Bookkeepers, Perfumers, Civil Servants, and Italy, among all.
Are you devoted to Saint Matthew or someone of your loved ones is named Matthew?
Here is the religious medal dedicated to this Evangelist.
PS: Remember that, at your request, we will engrave the reverse of the medal with a name or a date that is meaningful for you.

St. Matthew the Evangelist medal

Saint  Mark the Evangelist

The second Evangelist, following the order of the four Gospels in the Bible, is Saint Mark, whose attribute is the Winged Lion, a figure of courage that represents Jesus’ resurrection; this is because the lion was believed to sleep with open eyes, a comparison of Christ in the tomb. This attribute wants to remind Christians that they always have to be courageous on the path of salvation. He is said to be the founder of the Church of Alexandria (Egypt), also known as the Coptic Catholic Church,  and his feast is celebrated every year on April 25. He is believed to have been among the servants at the Marriage of Cana who poured the water that Jesus turned to wine (John 2:1-11). He is considered the Patron Saint of hearing, Opticals, Notaries, Barristers, Glassmakers and Egypt, among all. Furthermore, he is considered the Patron Saint of Venice (Italy), a famous city for its Murano glass, used for the beads of these marvelous handmade rosaries.
If you are devoted to Saint Mark, here is the religious medal dedicated to him.

St. Mark the Evangelist medal


Saint Luke the Evangelist

Saint Luke is the author of the third Gospel account (and the Acts of the Apostles), and his attribute is the Winged Ox, or bull, which represents sacrifice, service and strength. The ox symbolizes that Christian should be prepared to sacrifice themselves in following Christ, like he did as a martyr. He was a Greek physician who lived in the city of Antioch (Greece, Ancient Syria), and was a disciple of Paul.
Saint Luke is celebrated every year on 18 October and he is considered the Patron Saint of Surgeons, Physicians, Artists, Bachelors and Farmers, Students and Butchers, among all.
If one of these is your job, here is the Catholic medal that will protect you along the way.

St. Luke the Evangelist medal


Saint John the Evangelist

Last but not least, Saint John the Evangelist is the author of the fourth Gospel account, and his attribute is the Eagle, which symbolizes Jesus’ Ascension and Christ’ divine nature. This is because the eagle is considered a figure of the sky and it was believed by Christian scholars that it could look straight to the sun. Furthermore, the eagle symbolizes that Christians should look on eternity without flinching as they journey towards their goal of union with God.
He is celebrated on 27 December and he is considered the Patron Saint of Artists, Friendship, Love, Loyalty, Stationers, Arms Makers, Candles Makers, Paper Makers, Engravers, Booksellers, Writers, Theologists, Typographers and Widows, among all.  
Here is the Medal of Saint John: get it for one of your loved ones and add a personalized engraving on its back.

St. John the Evangelist medal


Are you looking for something special which could group them all in one single religious article?
There is nothing better than this wooden wall crucifix, which groups the four Apostles together with their prophet, during the most important moment of His life: His crucifixion that would have saved humanity from damnation.

Four Evangelists wall crucifix


Related articles:
5 inspirational verses from the Bible about peace→
St Stephen the first Martyr of history→

Previous post
Next post